…Just Another 2.3 Post

I have to keep this somewhat short today, as I have a number of things I need to get off my desk by the end of the day. I do want to run down my first impressions of patch 2.3, from a Rogue’s perspective. So, I’m going to be cheap and just do a list. Heh.

spicyhottalbuk.jpg

  • The cooking daily is, so far, my favorite addition. Choosing the meat crate reward yielded the pictured recipe, which is wonderful for duel-wielding melee dps. How much is 20 hit rating worth? About 1.27% reduction in chance to miss. Finally, a self-buff to hit. If you are a rogue and don’t currently have at least 365 cooking…well, shame on you.
  • Heroic/Normal dailies. 2 bonus badges for an heroic ramparts? You’re kidding, right? We banged it out in about an hour, and I got Chestguard of the Prowler to boot. I passed at first, thinking that a blue heroic drop couldn’t possibly be an upgrade for me. I can be arrogant, at (most) times. But compared to my Tunic of Assissination (with 3 +4hit/+4agi gems), I stood to gain 7ap, 5 hit, and 50 health while only losing .23% crit. Going from about 24.7% to 24.5% is definately worth the trade.
  • Battleground Daily. Yesterday’s was Arathi Basin, which is hardly ever an Ally win on our or any server I’ve ever been on. First one I joined we held 4 flags for the majority of the time; 10kb’s/3 deaths defending the lumber mill. A note to rogue battleground-ing: don’t waste your time fighting around the flag with all of the plate wearers and aoe-ers. I find it much more effecient and fun to wait for the battle for flag to begin, stealth around to the perimeter, and pick off the ranged (read: petless hunters) dps and healers. My best moment was ganking a blood elf hunter, tab-target-blinding the nearby resto druid who was trying to save my ganked hunter, finishing off the ganked hunter, vanishing, then commencing full stunlock pwntage of the resto druid. Did I mention I enjoy ganking hunters?
  • Zul’Aman. Well. It was a learning experience, I will say that much. If your guild hasn’t yet begun it’s entrance into SSC, you will probably have a tough time in here. The trash is trash. Easy stuff. The first boss? Hits like nightbane/maggy only FASTER. WTB stoneform, because his normal form does a nasty bleed that increases damage from all other bleeds by, um, aLOT. Two tanks are needed, and the taunt has to be timed perfectly between his normal and bear phases. We are going to try again tomorrow (since tonight is maggy), probably subbing in a resto druid in place of one dps as a third healer. Yes, the bear boss hits THAT hard. He can be reset by running to the bottom of the stairs. But ZOMG 20 slot bag as a reward for at least getting to the first boss!
6 Responses to …Just Another 2.3 Post

  1. Been in Winterspring all day so I dunno much about the patch yet. However! I’m at the doorstep to ZA atm, waiting for the rest of the raid, and now I’m nervous damnit. We haven’t even tried Maggy or Gruul :P

  2. Lalecize says:

    LOL!

    Who doesn’t enjoy ganking hunters!
    Cooking? That’s womens work..
    Err…but your probably right, yet again :P

  3. Hyouzan says:

    @Doom

    I am confused on why to take cooking on my rogue. I have it on my pally so she’s my kitchen whore. The only thing I can see a rogue needing it for is Thistle Tea. I guess leveling to cooking to 60 would be an easy. I just don’t see why taking it higher would be any good for mmy rogue since I already have a better cook. Is their something I’m missing on rogues and cooking? All my googles searches has turned up nothing past Thistle Tea.

  4. Mabd says:

    Bring it, elf scum.

    Pet’s busy chasing a warlock, doan need him anyway…

  5. doomilias says:

    @hyou
    i guess i should have been a bit more specific. yes, as a rogue you want to have at least enough cooking to make thistle tea. its free energy. what i should have said was “if you are a rogue dont have at least 365 cooking (or on an alt)…well, shame on you.”

    thanks for the correction!

    @mabby
    its k, doan worry! you wont feel a thing as i keep you stunned for the duration of your ganking! its true, your dead zone has been mostly removed…from the front, anyway. you still cant shoot behind your head! :)

  6. Elistana says:

    Haha… Nice post. I can’t say much for the women, as I’m a guy. But I must say, it’s the midriff revealing shirts that do it for me!!! Oh great, now I’m picturing it! Do you know what you have DONE!?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

